Weekend shutdown in effect across 10 districts

Bhubaneswar: Amid spike in Covid-19 cases, weekend shutdown across 10 districts of Odisha under category-B is in effect from today.

The districts are Puri, Khurda, Nayagarh, Cuttack, Jajpur, Jagatsinghpur, Kendrapara, Bhadrak, Balasore and Mayurbhanj. The shutdown restrictions have been imposed in these districts for 48 hours starting from 6 am on Saturday.

Under the weekend shutdown, only medical outlets and hospitals have been allowed to function. People will be allowed to commute only in case of emergency and essential work like health related medical work. Similarly, government employees, workers dealing with essential services and e-commerce employees will be allowed to travel.

Night curfew along with weekend shutdowns will also be allowed in these 10 districts under B category. However, the weekend shutdown will not be imposed in the other 20 districts of the State falling under category A.

Earlier on June 30, the State Government had extended the partial lockdown further by 15 days with the relaxation of restrictions for 12 hours in 20 districts where the Covid-19 test positivity rate is below five per cent and eight hours in the rest of 10 districts that have been recording a TPR of more than five per cent.

The districts have been divided into two categories — Category A and Category B — on the basis of Covid caseload, TPR, and other relevant parameters.

newslive odisha

News Live Odisha

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button