Top Stories

Odisha extends partial lockdown till July 16, relaxes norms

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha Government on Wednesday extended the partial lockdown, imposed to contain the spread of Covid infection in the State, till July 16 (6 am), informed the State Chief Secretary, Suresh Chandra Mohapatra.

As many as 20 districts have been categorised in group ‘A’ where Test Positivity Rate (TPR) is less than 5%. Those are- Angul, Dhenkanal, Keonjhar, Sundargarh, Jharsuguda, Bargarh, Sambalpur, Deogarh, Kalahandi, Balangir, Nuapada, Sonepur, Ganjam, Gajapati, Kandhamal, Boudh, Koraput, Nabarangpur, Malkangiri and Rayagada.

The rest 10 districts have been grouped into category ‘B’ where the TPR is above 5%. Those are- Nayagarh, Puri, Khurda, Cuttack, Mayurbhanj, Jajpur, Kendrapara, Jagatsinghpur, Bhadrak and Balasore.

All shops in category ‘A’ districts where Covid Test Positivity Rate (TPR) remain below 5 percent will be allowed to operate from 6 am to 6 pm, informed the Chief Secretary.

The State Government has allowed bus transport in category ‘A’ districts but under strict adherence to Covid protocols. Buses are allowed to pick up passengers up to seating capacity only.

Taxis and autos can carry a maximum of 2 persons apart from driver, added Mohapatra.

Similarly, small hair salons are allowed to operate in category ‘A’ districts. Outdoor & indoor film shooting can resume while daily markets and weekly haats have also been permitted in category ‘A’ districts.

The Odisha government had clamped the lockdown for the first time this year following a massive resurgence in Corona cases. After enforcing the curbs from May 5 to 19 in the first phase and from May 19 to June 1 subsequently, the government extended the lockdown till June 17 which was again extended till July 1 (5 am).

newslive odisha

News Live Odisha

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button