COVID-19: Tenure Of Vice-Chancellors Extended In Odisha

Bhubaneswar: In view of COVID-19 pandemic situation prevailing in Odisha, the State Government has recommended to the Governor, who is the Chancellor of all the universities, for extension of tenure of Vice-Chancellors in six universities for a period of three months.
In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (8) of section 6 of Odisha Universities Act, 1989, the State Government has extended the tenure of six VCs — Prof. Atanu Kumar Pati of Gangadhar Meher University, Sambalpur; Prof Madhumita Das of Fakir Mohan University, Balasore; Prof. Pradeep Kumar Chand of North Orissa University, Baripada; Prof. Soumendra Mohan Patnaik of Utkal University, Bhubaneswar; Prof. Amrendra Narayan Misra of Khallikote University, Berhampur and Prof Padmaja Mishra of Rama Devi Women’s University, Bhubaneswar — for a period of 3 months from the date of completion of their respective tenure or till the joining of the newly appointed VCs, whichever is earlier.
As per the order from the office of the Chancellor dated yesterday, Gangadhar Meher VC Professor Atanu Kumar Pati’s completion of tenure is scheduled on July 25 and FM University VC Professor Madhumita Das is scheduled to complete her tenure on August 1.
Similarly, Professor Chand is scheduled to complete his tenure as the VC on August 31, Utkal University VC Prof Soumendra Mohan Patnaik on July 30, Khallikote University VC Professor Misra on July 13 and tenure of Rama Devi Women’s University’s VC Professor Padmaja Mishra is scheduled to complete on July 14.
Such extension of tenure is being accorded with a stipulation that no policy decisions shall be made or any recruitment for teaching or non-teaching posts shall be undertaken by the incumbent Vice-Chancellor concerned without the prior approval of the Chancellor, stated the office order.

newslive odisha

News Live Odisha

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button