Congress shortlists candidates for Pipili By-poll

Bhubaneswar: A day after Odisha Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) issued the gazette notification for the ensuing Pipili by-poll scheduled to be held on April 17, Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) Chief Niranjan Patnaik on Wednesday said the party has submitted a report on its candidature to AICC and the party high command will finalize the candidate.

“There will be a triangular fight in Pipili this time,” said the OPCC Chief.

Speaking to mediapersons, Patnaik said names of three persons: Ajit Mangaraj, Purna Swain and Nishikant Mishra have been shortlisted for the by-election. He further said that star campaigners’ list has already been prepared and the party will work hard to win the election.

“Congress will secure good votes in this elections. A team led by Chiranjib Biswal has prepared a report. The candidate will be finalized based on the report. Even if I don’t get the ticket, I will work for the party,” said Ajit Mangaraj, who is in the race to secure the party ticket.

In 2019 General elections, Mangaraj contested from Pipili Assembly Constituency and secured only 9,830 votes while BJD’s strongman Late Pradeep Maharathy grabbed the seat with 88,518 votes.

By-poll to the constituency was necessitated after demise of former MLA late Pradeep Maharathy, who died on October 4 last year.

newslive odisha

News Live Odisha

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button