Top Stories

Congress fields Ajit Mangaraj for Pipili by-poll

Bhubaneswar: The All India Congress Committee (AICC) on Sunday named Ajit Mangaraj as Congress party candidate for by-election to Pipili Assembly constituency.

Mangaraj unsuccessfully contested on a Congress ticket from Pipili Assembly seat during 2019 general election.

The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) fielded Rudra Pratap Maharathy as its party candidate for the bypoll to Pipili Assembly seat scheduled to be held on April 17 whereas the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) named Ashrit Pattnayak as its party candidate.

Rudra Pratap is the son of late party leader Pradeep Maharathy.

The last date for filing of nomination papers is March 30 while the scrutiny of papers will be on March 31. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is April 3.
Counting of votes will take place on May 2 and the results will be declared the same day.

The by-poll to Pipili Assembly seat was necessitated after demise of former BJD leader and seven-time MLA Pradeep Maharathy.

He passed away while undergoing treatment at a hospital in Bhubaneswar on October 4 last year.

newslive odisha

News Live Odisha

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button