CM okays rationalisation of 905 police posts, creation of 6 new PSs

Bhubaneswar: In a bid to strengthen policing for better crime control and efficient delivery of citizen centric services in Odisha, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Friday approved rationalisation of 905 posts in 220 police stations, strengthening of six police outposts and creation of six new police stations in the state.

The existing police stations which will be bifurcated into six new police stations are- Khandagiri police station in Bhubaneswar, Angul Town police station in Angul, Jhasuguda Town police station in Jharsuguda, Bhanjanagar police station in Ganjam, Bhadrak (Rural) police station in Bhadrak and Tihidi police station in Bhadrak.

“The rationalisation will help strengthen 220 police stations and six outposts in 21 police districts of the state,” said a communique issued by the Office of the Chief Minister.

Earlier, the CM had directed the DG of Police (DGP) to make more personnel available in police stations by way of rationalisation.

“Significant decline in Maoist menace due to strong security response and development activities has enabled the state to rationalise its manpower in police,” the communique added.

newslive odisha

News Live Odisha

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button