BJP releases 1st list of Telangana candidates, 3 sitting MPs get tickets

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday released the first list of 52 candidates for the upcoming Telangana Assembly elections. T Raja Singh, whose suspension over his offensive remarks against Prophet Mohammed was revoked earlier today, is fielded to contest from Goshmahal constituency. Sanjay Kumar Bandi will enter the fray from the Karimnagar constituency.

Rajender Eatala will enter the fray from two constituencies, including Huzurabad and Gajwel. Etala, a former member of the Telangaa Rashtra Samithi (now Bharat Rashtra Samithi), would lock horns with his former party chief and Telangana Chief Minister KCR in Gajwel.

Three candidates included in the list are sitting Members of Parliament, including former president Sanjay Kumar Bandi, Bapu Rao Soyam and Arvind Dharmapuri. Soyam is slated to enter the election fray from Boath, while Dharmapuri will contest from the Korutla constituency.

The names were finalized during the Central Election Committee meeting of the BJP held on Friday, under the leadership of Jagat Prakash Nadda. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, and Home Minister Amit Shah were also present during the meeting.

The opposition Congress had released its first list comprising 55 candidates for the Telangana polls on October 15, with party state unit chief Anumula Revanth Reddy fielded from Kodangal, and former Telangana Congress president Uttam Kumar Reddy from Huzurnagar.

Telangana Assembly polls will be held on November 30 and the results of the polls will be announced on December 3. The voting will be held across a total of 35,356 polling stations in the state, with 14,464 urban polling stations, and 20,892 rural ones.

newslive odisha

News Live Odisha

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button